Awards and Residencies

2020 – Joint Category Winner: Outstanding Contribution to Heritage Award, inaugural Whanganui Regional Heritage Awards, for Take Me With You!

2020 – Longlisted, New Philosopher Writers’ Award XXVI ‘Change’

2020 – Shortlisted for the NZSA/Auckland Museum Research + Residency Grant

2019-2020 – Robert Lord Writers’ Cottage Residency, Dunedin (10 weeks)

2019 – ANZAC Bridge Fellowship with NZ Pacific Studio, Mt Bruce (3 weeks)

2018 – Commended, inaugural Manawatu Writers Festival Nonfiction Writing Competition

2017 – Longlisted, Thresholds International Short Fiction Feature Writing Competition

2016 – Shortlisted, Bridport Prize for Flash Fiction

2016 – Scholarship recipient to attend the inaugural Kapiti Writers’ Retreat, Waikanae

2015 – Winter Writer in Residence, NZ Pacific Studio, Mt Bruce (including a live-to-air broadcast interview with Hugo Manson at Radio Eketahuna)

2011 – Recipient (with others) of the Fulton-Downer Gold Medal President’s Award for engineering in the role of public service. Awarded to engineers who were active in the response phase of the 2010 and 2011 Canterbury Earthquakes

2003 – Finalist, Darius Press Short Story Competition

1985 – Winner, Frank Alack Award for Short Fiction (administered by Forest and Bird)

%d bloggers like this: